Art As Antidote

img_0745

This may look like a fiber pizza, but it is the layout in-progress for a felted card series.  My working title for the series is “The Antidote,” because the hours I spent in the studio filling my work tables ( with approximately eighteen inches by eight-and-a-half-feet of fiber,  around five ounces) felt like the antidote to the anxiety of this dismal election season.

The base and much of the embellishment are from one of The Yarn Wench’s (a.k.a. Lynn Wigell) Wild Card Bling Batts.  I usually fabricate my own batts on my beloved Louet drum carder, or I layer wool and other fibers for my work; but Lynn’s creations are so jam-packed with curls and artistically-blended tones that it’s pure pleasure to open up one of her batts as inspiration for a studio day or for spinning some yarn.  To her batt I added silk fabrics and more curly locks and additional merino wool wisps.

Sometimes in crafting felted cards I work on developing individual small compositions, each one to become a separate card; other times I just let myself experiment with layering different colors and fibers to see how they will interact in the process — and then I look for areas that can be cut into card-size shapes.

This was a fun experiment: free form and wild and wooly.  In fact, when completed, this layout offered about fifty areas that were interesting small compositions to cut into cards, and the leftover pieces will provide “pre-felt” yardage with shimmer and texture for future work.

If you would like to learn how to craft felted card images, please let me know via private message or email (aspangborn@gmail.com), providing your email address;  and I will add you to my list and contact you with info about winter 2017 workshops.

Here’s an image from an earlier series, crafted from layers of merino and silk fiber, with some silk fabric embellishment:IMG_4540

Published in: on October 15, 2016 at 2:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyblissfeltmaking.wordpress.com/2016/10/15/art-as-antidote/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

