Re-reading “Art Is a Way of Knowing”…

IMG_0039

…a beautiful book by Pat. B. Allen, first published in 1995, as I develop new expressive arts workshops for Fall 2016.   The subtitle of Allen’s book is “A guide to self-knowledge and spiritual fulfillment through creativity.”  I recommend the book to all artists!

IMG_5213

From the Forward, by M.C. Richards: “The art process carries us free of conscious thinking and judging.  This absorption in the process is what heals.  It accesses another part of oneself, where the mysteries of pain and release, grief and anger and despair, longing and hope are present.”

IMG_3248

And from the author’s Preface: ” Images take me apart; images put me back together again, new, enlarged, with breathing room… Art making is my way of bringing soul back into my life.  Soul is the place where the messiness of life is tolerated, where feelings animate the narration of life; where story exists.  Soul is the place where I am replenished and can experience both gardens and graveyards.  Art is my way of knowing who I am… I don’t believe that art cures or fixes; rather it restores the connection to soul, which is always waiting to be reclaimed.”

IMG_4757

The words from “Art As a Way of Knowing” describe what I experience and what I intend to share when I work with others, via creative coaching and in offering expressive arts workshops.

This summer, I’ll announce new Fall 2016 “Creating Your Life” classes and workshops, some held in my State College, PA, home studio; and some offered through a combination of online experiences and one-to-one creative coaching in-person, on the phone, via email or Skype.  If you’re interested in learning about these classes or in creative coaching, I invite you to please let me know if you’d like to be on my contact list.

Published in: on June 8, 2016 at 12:59 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyblissfeltmaking.wordpress.com/2016/06/08/re-reading-art-is-a-way-of-knowing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

