The Business of Art

Recently, I raised the prices of my Rhapsody Rose Felted Corsage pins…
Since a picture is worth a thousand words, I’ll try to explain why in these photos:

I prepare silk fabrics — many of them hand-dyed; and clean the veggie matter from kid mohair locks:
IMG_5278

I select and then card wool top and silk and other fibers from which to spin yarn for the roses and tendrils:
IMG_5280

I spin the yarns:
IMG_5279

And craft mostly-green prefelts with lots of variety in the tones and textures, for the base and leaves:
IMG_5281IMG_5282

After layering and felting, about 12 pins at a time, I cut out and finish each individual flower separately:
IMG_5285

They get embroidered, beaded with a variety of vintage, gemstone, Swarovski crystal, pearl and other fine beads. I stitch on a pin back, and place each pin in a gift box with info about the process and materials under the lid and my business card on the top of the box.
IMG_5302

IMG_5299

IMG_5298

IMG_5301

It’s a delightful process. And… it’s a lot of work!

Published in: on March 3, 2015 at 9:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyblissfeltmaking.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/the-business-of-art/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

