Making Order in the Studio

IMG_4742

This jumble of spring-toned fiber that I carded and coaxed into form is a good symbol of what my studio looked like this morning: there was work in progress here; work to go to shops there; pieces of felt related to some of the yarn that has been spun and pieces of felt related to work that has not yet been done; boxes of beads and all of the paraphernalia of beading; the unhappy start to a crocheted collar that was whispering “release me, I do not want to be a collar.” So I started to tidy up and completely un-crocheted the collar and wound the pretty hand-spun yarn into a ball.

I’ve learned to write down notes related to work-in-progress, and to tie it on or otherwise secure these notes with the related work: a date, and what fibers have been used, and what the intended use is for whatever fiber has been dyed or carded or felted or spun or gathered. It should NOT amaze me that I can be utterly immersed in a project, then put the various components in a bag, start half a dozen other projects, return to the bag and not remember what fibers were used or why I did what I did in the first place. Why am I amazed? The artist’s brain is a fickle brain.

And on the floor: wonderful bits of fluff, dyed silk noil, silk threads and strips of silk fabrics that are the evidence of hours of blissful blending and working; tiny bits of veggie matter teased out of curly wool locks and locally-produced rovings.

A short, focused flurry of organizing and vacuuming created the equivalent of a blank page in my studio.

I’m clearing my small studio, preparing to teach an “Intro to Felting” workshop. I love this feeling of making order in anticipation of introducing others to the magical world of feltmaking. It all feels good: straightening up, re-discovering the starts of projects that are sometimes wonderful and sometimes better left undone, putting supplies in good order, and getting ready to share the studio and share about fiber!

IMG_3250

IMG_3255

Published in: on April 4, 2014 at 12:34 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyblissfeltmaking.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/making-order-in-the-studio/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

