Studio Visit: “Rhapsody Rose Corsage Pin” Lay-out with MOOD Fabrics

 

The image above shows the start of laying out fibers for some “Rhapsody Rose Corsage” pins.  In the center of  my workspace, I’ve arranged three layers of various fibers, including several green colors of merino wool and a fluffy Finn wool in deep moss green, on top of bubble wrap that’s placed on top of some plastic shelf liner to keep the bubble wrap from sliding on my work table.  These fibers provide the base for the flowers, as well as providing some green “prefelt” yardage from which I’ll cut leaves for other work.  On top of this green layer, I place strips of silk fabric, including some of the silk fabrics from MOOD.  I nestle tendrils of curly kid mohair locks and my hand-spun yarns to overlap the strips of silk fabric; then cut leaves from green “prefelted” yardage I’ve previously made and arrange these leaves on top of the other elements; and finally I fashion a rose from some of my hand-spun and a few bits of silk fabric strips &/or some wisps of merino fiber, and place the rose on top.  I’ll craft four or five closely-spaced designs in this layout, then cover/wet/felt them.  I’ll carefully cut out each “corsage” while the fibers are still wet.  Finally, I’ll “full” (work to shrink) each Corsage individually, and gently coax the various elements into final shape.

 

Published in: on March 23, 2011 at 3:05 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyblissfeltmaking.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/studio-visit-rhapsody-rose-corsage-pin-lay-out-with-mood-fabrics/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

