Random Bliss and Fiddleheads…

When I completed the design for the Pennsylvania Association for Sustainable Agriculture (PASA) silent donation piece, it looked too much like the piece I had donated to PASA last year!  Those same earthy greens and browns may relate to the agricultural theme, but I decided I wanted something different; so I created a bold scarf with “dots” — a motif I call “Bliss,” because of how much I love fabricating the dots.  The scarf has a mid-layer that’s half silk fiber, which gives the piece lots of loft, an almost weightless quality.  I used dyed Wensleydale wool locks as asymmetrical fringe.  The white silk of the mid-layer is visible here and there along the edges, adding contrast and sheen.

I created a second scarf using the “Fiddlehead” motif, using my handspun yarn to evoke the curled fronds.  Abundant use of silk fiber gives the surface a lot of shimmer.  The scarf is so lightweight and soft, subtle with lots of movement!   At some of the edges, the fibers extend around the curves of the fronds; this random quality was unplanned, one of those wonderful feltmaking surprises.

Published in: on January 20, 2010 at 10:14 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyblissfeltmaking.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/random-bliss-and-fiddleheads/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This is so bright & bold. It looks like a beautiful sunset! Lovely!


Leave a Reply

